A Logical, Sane and Smart Thing

In April 2010, I started blogging with the intention of publishing a blog post at least once a week, if not more. Since taking a holiday last year, my published posts dwindled to about once a month.

Around the time of my one year blogging anniversary, I prodded you to README, to hear me out etc… then silence. For over a month, there was no word from me. So when your writing output is down and posts are few and far between, what is the most logical, sane and smart thing to do? Create another blog!

And that’s what I did. 😀

Love Animals Now is my second blog and, as its name suggests, it’s where I advocate truly loving animals and cease looking at them as food. It’s time to make ourselves aware about this whole issue of cruelty and eating animals, and to exercise our sense of compassion and empathy for these long-suffering beings.

I have learned that giving up meat is not that hard to do. If I, a once hard-core meat lover and a picky eater can do it, so can you. You just need to make an effort to listen, to know, to care.

I’ll share my take on various issues in future posts, including impacts of animal production, my response to friends’ comments on eating meat etc.

I remember when my daughter was a toddler. I learned to pick up one sure sign she was up to no good and this is when she was very quiet. In my case, my being quiet didn’t mean I was up to no good. In fact, I’m trying to do good (blogging about pertinent things), but it would be more fun to do it with you. 🙂

Earthianne is my blog for sharing my stories, opinions and other musings.

Love Animals Now is my blog for sharing one of my new-found beliefs that:

not eating animals = truly loving animals + loving yourself and others.

After all, as others teach and believe, we are one, interconnected and interdependent.

Please go over to Love Animals Now for my latest take on a topic very close to my heart — The Unpalatable Reality of Eating Animals.

I hope to see you there. 🙂

About Earthianne

A lover of OSHO, non-fiction books, fun and laughter, music, philosophy, life, animals, world peace.

Posted on 27/05/2011, in Animals, Love, Thoughts and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 8 Comments.

  1. Congratulations Earthianne. I think it’s a great idea to blog what you are passionate about and share your viewpoints with others. Good luck on your new blog, and I hope you will find the time to post other musings and ramblings on your main blog as well.

    • Hi Phil, thanks! It took ages before I felt the need and the confidence to share mine and there’s no stopping back (I set to ‘private’ my new blog by mistake, lol). People look at things from different perspectives and I’m always curious where those I know stood on things. I don’t mind taking a peek at what angle they’re looking at on a given topic, it helps me broaden my understanding.

      Oh yes, I’ve got a couple of topics lined up for Earthianne. 🙂

      See you on your side of the blogosphere. 🙂

  2. Good that you are going to blog about what you believe in, Earthianne!

    • Hi Leslie, thanks for dropping by.
      I’m just doing my bit to help the animals. 🙂
      (Now I understand why animal activists feel the need to do what they do.)

  3. It’s a noble thing to try and do your bit.
    It’s no secret that the meat we eat involves cruelty and degradation.
    Unfortunately being a chef i have no choice on the matter.
    My job is to cook and serve these animals and i wouldn’t be much of a chef if i didn’t taste what i serve.
    You could say i’m in on it occupationally

    • Oh, hi, Richard! Thank you for visiting and for your comment. I have a friend who’s a chef so I can understand. Where livelihood is concerned, I don’t force my views, lest people tell me to find them alternative jobs, lol.

      I have a long way to convince friends and family as my message is falling on deaf ears at the moment. As far as I know, I’m the only non-meat eater in my family and most of my friends are omnivores. Most of them just love meat too much to give it up.

      We all know it’s cruel, snapping out any life is cruel, but I didn’t know how reprehensible and, for me, unacceptable, the whole thing is until I’ve seen documentaries and read those books I mentioned in my posts. All I can do is share my reasons for my new, permanent belief that animals are not food. In the end, the choice is yours/theirs to make. I just hope one day I’d be able to articulate why I see this whole issue as more than just about the individual or family or culture… ethics… health… jobs… business… environment…compassion etc. The issue is far greater than that. I just don’t have the vocabulary to explain it, lol.

  4. you are right. veganism or vegetarianism is the way to go. it’s the compassionate choice, the right choice, the logical choice, the healthy choice. but our culture is a war making, meat eating culture that celebrates death. thank you for the reminder.

    • I know I don’t have to convince you, Ed. Thanks for sharing your thoughts. From my personal experience, this drastic but permanent shift happened when I had the eyes-mind-heart connection. Hopefully, more and more people will get this soon too.

      As for this culture you speak of, it’s a deep issue made complex by spin/manipulation/propaganda/disinformation/fear-mongering/greed etc. I don’t know what can be done about this.

Leave a Reply

