Grabbing the Reins

istockphoto.com

As 2010 draws to a close, I’m prodding myself to grab the reins of my life.

I’ve let myself stay on auto pilot for years and kept doing certain things that aren’t working on continual loop. It’s what others call ‘insanity’ — doing the same things over and over knowing you get the same, predictable, undesired results.

Year in year out, this is what I do: daydream, plan, procrastinate, get distracted, lose focus. Repeat.

I have stuff on my ‘Wish List’ that only remained ‘wishes’. With 2011 almost upon us, I resolve to change this once and for all and turn my long-held dreams into tangible reality.

Mind you, most of them are not really big dreams. They’re mainly simple things like wanting to practice Tai Chi or Qigong, learning to play the African drums, be more health-conscious, perhaps booty shake it like Shakira (lol) etc.

In my inaction, I’ve undermined my own self. With my long-overdue show of self-love, however, that is about to change. First, I take responsibility for my inaction and its inevitable non-result; I acknowledge it and now it’s time to get off my derrière and just do it.

I’ve examined my life and I know there are aspects of it that seriously need fixing. I have dreams that I know I have the power to bring into fruition.

From now, this is what I’ll consciously do: desire, intend, commit, focus, persist and—when it materialises—celebrate! Repeat.

Marianne Williamson, author of ‘A Course in Miracles’, wisely tweets ‘owning your desire will start the cosmic engine‘. Even before I read her tweet, I know 2011 will be a very interesting year for me in terms of goals because of my strong intent to make things happen this time.

Taking stock of my life journey this past year, a few things were noteworthy:

1. unintentionally becoming a wannabe jet-setter. This, of course, created a big hole in my pocket, but I’m grateful for the experiences and to the various people who helped make those trips worthwhile, fun and memorable.

2. actualising my desire to write, express, share, unzip, unload and reveal where I stood on certain issues by starting a blog. Writing is one thing that I’ve actually managed to do something about but to date it’s only a hobby.

3. being in a pleasant office environment where any potential dramas and conflicts are ‘repelled’ by the good-naturedness and strong work ethics of the young people who work there. I’m lapping it up at the moment while it lasts.

The last few months of 2010 found me:

4. unintentionally becoming a vegetarian. Losing my desire to eat animal flesh was an unexpected but welcomed change. This has become a precursor to my New Year plan to improve my physical fitness.

5. falling in love… with farm animals and joining Meat-eater Anonymous!! Recently, I mentioned sensing ‘love is in the air’. I caught the love bug but I wasn’t expecting this type of love!

6. advocating for love and compassion for animals

7. de-cluttering my space at work and home (ongoing)

8. re-starting a savings plan

9. appreciating people and situations more, and more and more loving life!

However, it’s my dormant and unactualised ‘wants’ that I’m focusing on next year. I’ve started to list my desires/goals/wishes for the new year. Without solid plans and just empty dreams, many will remain in limbo, like I was in the last many years.

Right now I’m ‘stirring’… and have started to do and put things in place in preparation to actualising my intentions for 2011. And I’m getting excited!

About Earthianne

A lover of OSHO, non-fiction books, fun and laughter, music, philosophy, life, animals, world peace.

Posted on 03/12/2010, in Thoughts, Update and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. the point in the path you are on and moving into sounds juicy.
    i want to learn to play the african drums, too.

    • Thanks, Ed! I’m a frustrated ‘musician’ (I do air guitar, harmonica and drums, lol). I’m wanting to learn/do so much I don’t know how I can fit them all into my sched/life. Thank you for dropping by. 🙂
      P.S. I’ll definitely enrol in a drumming class next year. When we both know how to play, let’s jam!

  2. You can be like Shakira and do Zumba with me 🙂

  3. Good luck, may your dreams become reality.

  4. 🙂 One step at a time. Have you started a class in any of the above, Earthianne?

    • Hi Leslie, not yet. I’ve been investigating my options, and I’m looking at starting 1 or 2 within this month. You’re right, but having procrastinated for decades I may have to do a few at a time. 🙂

  5. This is a good set of goals.
    The important and difficult thing is to maintain them.
    A set routine works for me.

    • I set myself too many goals this year and I’m already failing on some of them, lol. BTW, I plan to do your ‘free form poetry’ soon and I’ll let you know if I came up with gibberish or something that would surprise me. 🙂

      • Oh please do, you might just revive it.
        It would be great to see more resulting poems come in.
        I think you will be surprised 😀
        .
        Sometimes it’s better to try to improve one thing at a time.
        Sometimes it just isn’t possible to achieve everything, something i am beginning to come to terms with.

        • Ok… how do I break this to you? I failed, lol! But, I’m not a quitter (at least, not easily) so I’ll try again one of these days and let you know if I’d had any luck (fingers crossed). I enjoyed the music though, very much.

          I wasted too much time that’s why I’m now trying to do as many things as I can (probably not accomplishing much, lol). But you’re right about the 2 points above.

Leave a Reply

