Love is a Paradox

I must have gotten up from the wrong side of the bed, or perhaps it was the right side – you decide. I had a sudden thought to blog about a paradox.

This is an easy yet difficult subject, which only a few have mastered.

A subject that is simple, yet so complex.

I, myself, at this ripe old age of, well, old, is an inexperienced student and still learning.

I’m talking about LOVE.

istockphoto.com

There is the romantic, the familial, the neighbourly love…

There is the love for God, for friends, for pets…

Then there is universal love which is all-embracing and signifying unconditional love for all…

And there is self love.

There is no single, universally-accepted definition of love. Love is described in many various ways by very many people.

Is it just me or am I missing something? Is love an enigma?

Those who profess to know the full meaning of the word LOVE, speak.

Love is a word that begs to be defined succinctly.

Love is one powerful, emotion-evoking, all-encompassing word.

Love is most longed for, most dreamed about and most-sought after.

But we all know love is also misunderstood, misused and abused.

So do you really know what love is and what love is not?

Help me answer my questions.

Help me understand love and all its complexities.

Recognise love where I think I see falsity;

See love when it seems none exists;

Find love where it may hide.

[This is the first of many posts about this love-ing feeling.]

Add to DeliciousAdd to DiggAdd to FaceBookAdd to Google BookmarkAdd to MySpaceAdd to RedditAdd to StumbleUponAdd to TechnoratiAdd to Twitter

[British/Australian spelling used.]

About Earthianne

A lover of OSHO, non-fiction books, fun and laughter, music, philosophy, life, animals, world peace.

Posted on 17/09/2010, in Love, Points of View and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. I have been thinking a lot about this topic lately and even at my age must admit that I haven’t figured it out. I have a bunch of reasons why I would like to figure it out. Years ago while I was writing a paper I came across a claim that the concept of love is cultural in nature; cultural over time and over space. My experience tells me that it is true, although at times I have wished it weren’t.

    • Never heard of this concept before. Just goes to show how much I/we don’t know about this subject. This is getting much more complex than I thought!

  2. I think love might just be one of those things that is richer, stronger, nobler because it’s a mystery. Sometimes cold definitions, as much as they seem to promise security, only limit us and leave us out in the cold. Love is jazz – it’s the space between the notes that counts, not the notes themselves. Love is lightning and thunder, dandelions seeds exploding into the breeze, sun showers and the indescribable moment when two lovers really, truly look at each other. A love that succumbs to a definition isn’t one I’m interested in. Give me the mystery instead, I’d rather be surprised and awed. 🙂

    • I’m unable to offer anything better than what you said. Thank you, Michael, for your wonderful and poetic descriptions of what love is for you. I suspect you know more about love, more than you’re letting on! 🙂

  3. Hey sexiearthi,

    I’m with Michael:

    “A love that succumbs to a definition isn’t one I’m interested in.”

    It can’t be weighed or measured. It’s not supposed to make sense. It’s Love!

    • Thanks, Rachel, lol.

      So you don’t agree with me that it ‘begs to be defined succinctly’ (if it’s at all possible)? At the very least, I think it would be good to make clear what it is and what it isn’t. 🙂

  4. Yep, I have a different take on this indefinable essence.

    It’s not “Love” that begs for definition and intellectual analysis — it’s our minds. Love dwells in the realm of feeling, of the heart. Just so happens that I have a book concept now under market review, and the first page is “Love Mystifies.”

    Here’s an excerpt:

    “…You can explore love, experience love, embrace love, and embody love, but your logical mind will never understand love. You can feel when love is in the room, but you can’t see it. You can see love in the face of someone who loves you, but you can never measure it….

    “Love never plays by the rules, never follows a predictable system, and consistently reveals itself in strange and unfamiliar ways…More than anything, love wants you to soften the edges of your heart, let go of your old, tired thinking about love, and wrap yourself in the arms of a buoyant and nourishing love….”

    I hope others are pondering the same questions as you. Means my book just might have a future. I would Love that… (:

    • WOW! That IS love!

      Intellectually, I understand what love really is. I’ve been feeling the love too. I’ve even seen it from the eyes of those who long to say it but can’t, for some reason or the other. I’ve felt the pangs of love from those whose actions say it loud and clear but unable to express it in words, for some reason or the other (LOL). I can’t tell how much or how deep or for how long or if it’s unconditional… so I know what you mean.

      LOVE has become a favourite topic of mine since last year after hearing the words on (universal) love from one who I consider to be one of the few and genuine (but underrated) spiritual masters (he doesn’t call himself ‘master’) currently living. And this series of ‘love blogs’ which starts with my own musings on love will lead, towards the end, to what I learned in those few days.

      As the saying goes, love is all we need. I sure do hope people realize this and its importance and relevance at this time. I hope many will hear your message.

      I’m a ‘mature but eager student of love’. 🙂
      I’m so genuinely looking forward to your upcoming book and would love to grab a copy as soon as it’s out. I will be one of the first buyers, you can count on that.

  5. To me, love is an emotion and is also an English word that encompasses too much that it shouldn’t encompass. If the Inuits (I think it’s the Inuits, anyway) have a multitude of words for ‘snow’ then maybe we should have a multitude of words for Love…

    I love my husband (sorry if that sounds old-fashioned, but it’s how I feel) and we don’t argue, we get on, we understand each other (well, as much as a being of the female gender can understand a being of the male gender, lol!) and we complement each other. To me, that’s love in the true sense of the word and in that sense Love contains a very important element: respect.

    • Thanks, Val! I’d have loved that (pun), to have different words for different types of love! In fact, I needed one of those not that long ago. Someone said to me (not in these exact words but close): “That’s why I love you, but “love” not in a romantic sense.” So if there was another word to describe that sisterly/friendly love, a “disclaimer” wouldn’t have been necessary (not that it was), LOL!!

      Respect is one of the main “ingredients” of true love, which allows for a happy marriage such as yours. If it’s missing, I don’t think it should be called love. 🙂

      • We sort of have that, the more than one word thing, but only if we borrow from our roots. The Greeks and into Latin had three very distinct kinds of love: Eros for the physical, filial for the familial/friendly, and agape for the unconditional. While agape is not in general use much anymore, ‘erotic’ and ‘filial’ still see regular usage.

        It’s not the 90-odd words for snow that the Inuit have, but it’s something… 🙂

        • Oh, yes, of course! Never heard of “agape” until recently when I read “The Existential Jesus” (fascinating book!). But it would be nice to say a version of “I love you” when what you really mean is “I ‘filial’ you”, lol.

Leave a Reply

