Losing My Religion (5 of 5)

Image from istockphoto.com

This question had been in my mind for a long time:

Is there a one true religion?

For many years, I tried to find an answer to that simple question. Approximately twenty years later, I come to a disappointing but inevitable conclusion that it’s not that simple after all. There is no human being alive in the olden days or at the present time, nor any one holy book in existence, who holds and can provide all the answers to everyone’s satisfaction.

Because of this, I no longer have that longing to know. There is no more ‘gaping hole to fill’ or an ‘unending thirst to quench’ for me. After many years of futile searching, I rest… and lose my religion anyway.

I can disregard, cover my ears and turn a blind eye on my other previously-mentioned reasons. However, what made me to finally see the light, so to speak, is:

4. my growing interest in the theory of reincarnation.

Let me tell you upfront: I don’t claim to be Cleopatra, Machiavelli, Queen Nefertiti… or any high or low profile personalities, male or female.

Simplistic my reasons may be for believing in reincarnation, but I certainly don’t believe that just because no one at the present time can present empirical evidence/conclusive proofs of its reality, that it’s definitely not possible or not real.

I first read about reincarnation when it was featured in a magazine called ‘Panorama’ that came with the newspaper that my father used to subscribe to years ago. I remember reading that one could live as a human being in one life and then become a cockroach in the next life. It sounded horrible and at the same time laughable. I remember shaking my head and dismissing the idea of reincarnation outright.

I didn’t know it at the time but different religious groups’ beliefs on reincarnation differ and many don’t believe the above.

It was during my armchair soul searching many years later when I revisited this concept of reincarnation and made an effort to look at it again more objectively.

Why does reincarnation appeal to me after dismissing it initially? Reincarnation, if real, makes absolute sense to me now. If you dare look at it with an open mind and give it some genuine thought, it can shed light to a lot of things.

Edgar Cayce, whose story I read about voraciously (among other numerous books I read that touched on the topic of reincarnation), obviously had a major influence on me. But as this particular post is really just to ‘confess’ my final reason and conclude my ‘Losing My Religion’ story, I will explain more later why I chose to believe in reincarnation (including a continuing belief in a supreme being).

A website, World Christian Encyclopedia lists 19 major world religions, which are ‘subdivided into a total of 270 large religious groups. Wikipedia also has a list of numerous religions.

Ask every one of these groups which is the one true religion. Each religion, major and minor, old and new, including their respective denominations, will raise their hand and claim LOUDLY and assuredly theirs to be the one true one.

I ponder this question one last time: Is there a one true religion?

Don’t bother to raise your hand as it’s clear to me now: There is no such thing.

As I disclose my reasons for losing my religion, I remember and repeat an old saying that I heard my father say a few times:

All roads lead to the same place

and, may I add, these include unchartered, unnamed and unmarked roads that are less travelled. One of these roads I may be traversing solely, bravely. Would you dare join me?

Next topic: Holiday!

About Earthianne

A lover of OSHO, non-fiction books, fun and laughter, music, philosophy, life, animals, world peace.

Posted on 30/07/2010, in Humour, Thoughts and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 12 Comments.

  1. It made me more reassured that my gut feelings sometimes are correct and true to the proposition that “You could be my soulmate!”

    It also reinforces my commitment that I have to have at least a religion, regardless.

    Keep on inspiring others and continue to write more interesting topics.

    Very well presented and rebutted, indeed.

    • Boc, most people would want to hold on to what they know or where they feel more secure and it’s OK.
      Many thanks for your continued support and interest in reading my musings and for always boldly sharing your own thoughts. Haha, look after your #1 soul mate (lol, you know who I mean). BTW, I have more to say later re: faith.

  2. I think you came to the right conclusion. There is no one true religion, but many paths to the same place. I believe that reincarnation, like all things spiritual, is a metaphor. That doesn’t mean there is no such thing. It means we cannot be sure of its exact nature.

    • I can just imagine everyone of various faith saying theirs is the ONLY true way. We seriously need a major change in our thinking. Thank you for visiting and commenting. I’ve been over your blog and you’ve got good stuff.

  3. Definitely no one ‘true’ religion. I studied something in world politics one year about rational decision making and my lecturer told me “You will never know what is rational to another person because they have different views and values to you.” And it’s true, what one person believes with all their heart can be completely different from what another person believes.

    I think there are multiple possibilities of religion and of existence in the world. To be honest, I’m beginning to wonder if what you believe actually influences what happens when you die. And with that reincarnation point: I think reincarnation is quite plausible. I mean, all energy in the world recycles itself according to science, and there isn’t just an infinite supply. So eventually, we end up as matter in something else: a tree, a dog, maybe even a person.

    You came to the right conclusion, I think.

    • Your lecturer is right. What’s perfectly logical for you can be illogical to another.

      I read stories of people who say they’ve heard voices of relatives yet to be born. This is weird, of course, but let’s say, for the sake of argument, that this is true, I just can’t see how the energy or life force or prana/chi/ki which inhabit/give life/animate the physical body once can’t do it again (and again). So with regard to the possibilities, it’s exciting to think it’s limitless!

  4. reincarnation sounds more fun anyway. and isn’t the hope that the next life will be heaven, i.e. amazingly satisfying and fun? that’s our inner selves telling us that there’s something of value in a thing, when our imagination is lit on fire over it. at the same time, it’s also wildly exciting to envision an eternal afterlife, depending upon numerous details.
    who knows? let’s have fun talking about it and drinking wine.

    • Oh, yes, why not have fun while presupposing? Let’s compare notes.
      And this could be a natural cure for depression. Just imagining these exciting possibilities (here and the afterlife) lift up my mood!

  5. “God can be realized through all paths. All religions are true. The important thing is to reach the roof. You can reach it by stone stairs or by wooden stairs or by bamboo steps or by a rope. You can also climb up by a bamboo pole.” Ramakrishna

    It’s splitting hairs, playing semantics, but the only part of this quote that I don’t like is the “All religions are true” part. I’d rather see “faith” or “sincere spirituality” than religion simply because I relate so much institutional bureaucracy and manipulation to the concept of religion.

    That said, yes, you made the right choice. It’s far more fun and nutritious to treat belief systems and faiths and systems of philosophy as if they were part of a buffet anyway – I like to sample the parts that work and fuse them into an eclectic ball.

    This was a great series, Earthianne. Thanks for sharing.

    • Thanks, Michael, and great quote! It affirms the idea that no matter how long and winding the road, path or way is (and travelling alone or with others), one reaches the ‘source’ sooner or later.

      A bit of Hinduism, Buddhism, Taoism (which I love) and Christianity work for me too. But everyone developing a culture of religious AND irreligious tolerance is, admittedly, still a long way to go.

  6. But. but. but ….

    There IS one true religion

    … Humanity.

    Just us.

    Naked. with. and without warts

    A future where we do not need to accessorise with dogmas sounds a little like heaven

    Thanks for sharing Earthianne

  7. Much appreciate your visits/insights. Thank you, BuddhiHermit.

Leave a Reply

